Pruning the Pear Tree 2013

2013-02-25 09.18.01
Yesterday was pruning day. I’m still trying to figure out the best way to prune my pear tree and found this guide from Oregon State University2013-02-25 09.18.50 very helpful. This year I tried to limit the number of heading cuts on my 6 year old tree. Instead I focused on thinning cuts, especially of branches that were going to cross over onto other branches, and cutting out water sprouts. This has been the least vigorous pruning I’ve done yet on the tree and I’m hopeful that with so many 2 and 3 year branches, I’ll see an abundance of fruit this summer!

About mwolske

I'm a Senior Research Scientist in Community Informatics at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois.
This entry was posted in Growing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

